REVIEW:: Essence Nail Art Special Effect Topper – 10 Glorious Aquarius

So, as I told you guys yesterday, I went on a little shopping spree. One of the things I bought was the Essence Nail Art Special Effect Topper (who invents these names anyway?) in number 10, Glorious Aquarius. There was a 1+1 sale action, so for the same price I also picked up the Essence Colour & Go in number 147, Miss Universe, because I figured it would look amazing beneath the Glorious Aquarius topper. I’ve combined them on my nails (I’m still admiring my fingers while typing this, haha) so it’s about time to start my review!

Image

When Essence updated their products, they came up with 6 Nail Art Special Effect Toppers, which is a response to the increasing popularity of nail art worldwide. If you wanted flakies, holographic or magnetic effects, fuzzy nails, caviar nails, newspaper print nails, nail art stickers or something else, you often either had to look between more expensive, specialized brands, or try a DIY tutorial (like the one I’ve got on newspaper print nails!). But search no further, because Essence can help you out with ALL of those.

The nail polish line I’m discussing is their Special Effect Toppers, which, as I mentioned previously, consists of 6 different types of effects. The line includes 02 Circus Confetti, which is a transparant polish with multi-coloured glitters (a lot of purple, with specks of orange, red, green and blue), 10 Glorious Aquarius, which I will discuss in a minute, 15 Glitter on Me, which takes me back to the nineties, when my mum owned a transparant polish with slender bars and rectangles in mostly silver.
Next up is 16 Cool Breeze, which according to Essence is a jewel effect. It is a bit foggy sky blue and contains ditto flakies. I’ve tried these in the store on my nail (don’t tell the store owner, haha) because I was doubting between Glorious Aquarius and this one, but I felt like it didn’t transfer a lot of flakies to my nail, so I didn’t buy it.
And last but not least, the two newest ones in line are 17 Only Purple Matters, which is again a glitter topper with a lot of purple and some hot pink glitter, and 18 Fly Firefly Fly, which is a glow in the dark top coat.
The Essence Nail Art Special Effect Toppers cost about €1,89.

So, how about 10 Glorious Aquarius?

I started with two thin layers of Essence Colour & Go 147 Miss Universe, and actually it took surprisingly long for my nails to dry. They’re also impossible to wear with just one layer, because the polish turned out to be quite transparent for such a dark colour. Miss Universe is a very dark blue colour with blue and green shimmers. It looks amazing in the bottle, but needs a couple of layers on your nails before they match the colour and beautiful shimmer in the bottle.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I unfortunately forgot to take a picture of only Miss Universe on my nails, but I will update this post as soon as possible. So, next I added one layer of 10 Glorious Aquarius, and wow, it makes my nails look like some underwater version of galaxy nails! Glorious Aquarius consists of a transparant polish, filled with different sized (hexagon) glitters in silver, dark green, dark blue, sky blue and … orange. Yes, orange. For some reason the orange matches reaaaaalllly well with the cold colours without demanding all your attention. I simply love it!

Image

(I’m sorry for the picture being a bit blurry, but it’s already getting dark and it was really difficult to try and get a clear image)

2 Comments

Filed under Beauty, Review

2 responses to “REVIEW:: Essence Nail Art Special Effect Topper – 10 Glorious Aquarius

  1. Very pretty! I like this very much.

Leave a Reply

