Fall trends 2013 through my point of view

I’m in a good mood since I just got back from a shopping spree with my best friend, which always makes a girl happy. It’s not diamonds that are a girl’s best friend, it’s a sign with ‘sale’ and someone who’s willing to carry all of your shopping bags.

So while I was at H&M, I found their magazine, the Autumn 2013 edition. When I was leafing through the pages, I read a huge bunch of trends for this fall. I agreed with some, but disagreed with others. So I decided to make my own list. These are the things, patterns, trends and looks that -according to me- will define the next couple of months.

  1. Wednesday Addams:
    I’m sure most of you will remember this young lady from the Addams Family. I agree with H&M on this one, the Wednesday Addams look is spot on for this fall. Sleek, wetlook hair with either a middle or deep, sharp sideparting, dark grey or even black smokey or smudged eyes, raven-black nails and full brows.
    Concerning clothes, we’re talking black tule, a Victorian twist, black lace, collars and schoolgirl dresses. Add some matte black, plum or bordeaux Doc Martens and you’re ready to haunt the runway!
    (Seen at: Prada, Jonathan Saunders, Alexander Wang)

    Image

  2. Army meets leather:
    Think army green parkas, leather sleeves, army boots and a top bun or beanie, combined with a dark, matte lipstick and statement necklaces. This is something the H&M Trend Guide doesn’t really mention, but I noticed it in both the streets and the stores. I’m currently trying to convince my mum to buy (at least a part) of the H&M army green parka for me. One thing H&M does acknowledge as fall trend, is matte lips, which in my eyes fits perfectly with the rigorous, severe army look.Image
  3. Cosmic love:
    If there’s anything they’re beating you to death with in stores right now, it’s cosmic fashion. Galaxy print leggings, galaxy bags, shirts, shoes, earrings, necklaces, bracelets, scarves, sweaters, just about everything. Just a year ago I there wasn’t a pair of galaxy leggings in town, so I had to order them from Poppy Lovers, all the way from Hong Kong, but now you can find them everywhere. I’ve always liked the cosmic theme, despite it being a little bit hipster. Throw in a couple of triangles and there’ll be a hipster around the corner with a Starbucks cup in his hand, trying to accuse you of Illuminati. Oh well, I’m still a galaxy fan.
    Image
  4. Smelling less of teen spirit and more of female empowerment:
    This quote is literally from the H&M trends article, but I just had to use it. It expresses exactly my current view on fashion, and the way I (hopefully) look. Think nineties, Nirvana, Chuck Taylors and messy hair, but this time in a more mature way.
    fall4

So, these are my four fashion trends/styles for upcoming fall. What do you think? Which one is your favourite? Or will you just continue on wearing a lot of summer outfits, but with thights? (I know I will!)

1 Comment

Filed under Fashion, Inspiration

One response to “Fall trends 2013 through my point of view

  1. Amazing summary, thx a lot.

Leave a Reply

