Essence and Catrice nail polishes haul

I must admit: nail polishes are one of my biggest weaknesses. As I am someone who like looking a bit over the top, I own the most ridiculous colours of nail polish. Yesterday, I was admiring my collection, when I noticed that none of the trending colours at the moment were present in it! I didn’t have any decent nudes, pastels or a nice coral colour!
So today, being the nail polish lover that I am,  I headed directly to the nearest shop (Kruidvat, for my Dutch and Belgian readers), and took a look at their collection.

I’ve always loved the Essence collections -they’re cheap, the bottles are tiny (I have so many polishes I hardly ever finish one) and their quality is great for such a low price.

The first polish I picked was from their brand-new Ready For Boarding collection. The collection consists of an eyeshadow palette with 6 colours and a little guideline, two lip-cheek creams in pink and coral, a blue luggage label, a little make-up bag,  hand&body wipes, double end eye pencils and obviously nail polishes!

They have a base coat, which should peel off rather than chip off, which could be really easy when you’re on vacation -no need for nail polish remover! Furthermore, the collection consists of 5 colours, all for €1,49: 01 Sending You Kisses, 02 Beauty On Tour, 03 Exits On Your Right, 04 Via Airmail! and 05 Destination Sunshine. I bought 05 Destination Sunshine, which is a pastel, sweet tint of yellow.

 

The second polish I chose is also from Essence, this time from their Nude Glam collection. I picked 01 Cotton Candy, which is, as the name already indicates, a pale pink, a lovely nude colour. This one was €1,29.

 

I was continuing my journey through the make-up corner, on my way to the Catrice booth (another one of my all time favourite brands) when a box with bargains demanded my full attention. Most of it was not really interesting, but I managed to find this 05 Nude Or What? colour from a previous Essence Season Of Extremes collection for only €0,50! It’s a cute mix between lilac and grey, but still a nude. I think it’ll be perfect for winter.

 

Last but not least, I eventually reached the Catrice booth, where I picked up 820 Pimp My Shrimp, an orangey coral, for €2,49 -I’ve wanted a coral for soooo long now, yay!

 

So far I’ve already tried Pimp My Shrimp, Destination Sunshine and Cotton Candy. They all need at least three (thin) layers, Cotton Candy even needed four, and it’s still not opaque. Unfortunately, I only have a picture of Cotton Candy on my nails. I tried Destination Sunshine on my toes, which made me feel very summerish, but apparently the world isn’t ready for pastel yellow painted toe nails yet, so I removed it before I took a picture. And I had Pimp My Shrimp on my finger nails a few days ago, but they got covered with face paint (I volunteer working with children) after only one day so that one had to go too. If I apply them again, I’ll take pictures and update this post.

So this is Cotton Candy. Four layers of it. It’s still a bit transparant, which I love actually. It gives a slight hint of a french manicure. If you want an almost transparant polish, I can recommend this one as well, but I really wanted to see the pastel pink so I patiently applied layer after layer. Right now, it’s day two and they haven’t chipped at all, except for a tiny little chip on my left thumb.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty, Review

Leave a Reply

