8 Beauty Uses for Baking Soda

First of all, I would like to thank you guys, my lovely visitors! You might be wondering why? Well, today I passed the impressive milestone of 30.000 visitors! And my blog is only a little over 4 months old, so I can say that I am very proud of that number. The amount of followers keeps on growing by the second as well. Therefore I would like to thank you. Yes, you. I know I haven’t been very active lately, but tomorrow is my last exam (Linguistical Varieties oral exam, very sarcastic “yay”!) and I promise I will write a lot more posts this summer. I actually have a post-it on my desk with over 20 ideas for new posts!

I was browsing a bit on Pinterest, when I stumbled upon a picture of a healthy, glowing Lauren Conrad. She looks so incredibly radiant! Obviously, there’s probably a lot of make-up involved, but the Pinterest post informed me that this was the effect of something called Microdermabrasion, and that it can be done at home with this simple DIY.

I’m very curious to see if it works, so I’m going to try it right after writing this post. I’ll update with the results, as I have quite a sensitive, impure skin (please don’t let it sting).

(Edit: Ok, I tried the DIY Microdermabrasion. I mixed some baking soda in a cup, adding a bit of water at a time, until I got a bit of a half solid mixture. It was bubbling! I so felt like a chemist. I massaged it onto my cleaned skin, and it felt like a scrub. The baking soda contain little particles that don’t absolve in water, so it scrubs your skin, and kinda harsh. After a few seconds it actually did start stinging my skin a bit, so I rinsed it off with warm water. I cannot tell that my skin would look anything like Lauren Conrad’s -it’s actually kind of red right now-, but it feels reaaaaally clean, so I actually might try it again sometime. I’ll keep you guys updated!)

Well, I can hear you thinking: “That is just one use for baking soda, and the title of your post is 8 beauty uses for baking soda?” A little bit of patience, my darlings! I’ve been googling around a bit, and here’s my list of beauty uses with baking soda.

  1. This one already came forward in my Five uses for strawberries post. Baking soda has a whitening effect on your teeth. All you have to do is wet your toothbrush, dip it in baking soda and brush your teeth with it. As it tastes quite salty, I recommend brushing your teeth with normal toothpaste afterwards. I’ve been trying this method for a few weeks now, and I’m actually starting to see results. It’s not much, but it’s certainly something! I do have to mention that the first time I tried brushing my teeth with it, my gums felt kind of tingly afterwards, but after the second and third try I didn’t have any side effects.
  2. Use it as a deodorant. Sounds weird, I admit that, but perhaps you’re allergic to the chemicals in deodorant (I personally don’t always respond that well to the extremely perfumed Fa deodorants) and you need something less chemical and more natural? You can either apply baking soda directly to your skin using a big powder brush, or you mix four tablespoons of baking soda with about ten drops of your favourite essential oil, and apply this mixture to the skin
  3.  Take a bath with it! I am allergic to a loooot of bath products. They make my skin very itchy and dry. The white crystals in baking soda are often used in commercial bath salts, so using them in their pure form will let you benefit even more from them. Baking soda cleanses your skin naturally, while leaving you feeling silky smooth all over.
  4. Hairspray, hairgels, hairwax, dust, dirt, etc. It can all build up on your hair, and using an aggressive shampoo too often can be bad for your locks, because it strips your hair from its natural oils. Just add one tablespoon of baking soda to a cup of lukewarm water and massage it into your wet hair. Rinse very well -perfectly clean and smooth!
  5. And if you don’t have the time to wash and dry your hair, you can even use baking soda as a dry shampoo! Sprinkle some of it on your hair, comb through and sprinkle a little bit on top again. Wait for five minutes to let the baking soda absorb most of the excess oils and comb your hair thoroughly to remove the baking soda.
  6. You can even relieve sunburnt skin with it! Mix 3/4 of baking soda with 1/4 of water to a thick paste, and apply it to your damaged skin. This should soothen the pain and get the heat out of your skin in no time.
  7. Use baking soda to relieve bee stings,  insect bites, etc. Just use the same paste as you would for sunburnt skin, it will immediately relieve any itching or stinging.

Their are hundreds of other uses for baking soda, but I just listed a few very helpful and beauty related ones in this post. For instance, did you know you could keep flowers fresh longer if you add a tablespoon of baking soda to the water in the vase?

Quite awesome, innit? Anyway, I got the idea from this, this and this website, so be sure to visit them if you’d like to find out more!

5 Comments

Filed under Beauty, DIY

5 responses to “8 Beauty Uses for Baking Soda

  1. Excellent, what a blog it is! This webpage presents useful information to us, keep it up.

  2. Good post. I learn something totally new
    and challenging on websites I stumbleupon every day. It will
    always be helpful to read articles from other authors and practice
    a little something from their sites.

  3. felicia

    i love this. thank u. my dad is darker brown when he uses the baking soda it lightens and shine his skin to a beautiful shiny dark brown color on him. i love all of these other ideas. so thank u. please email me back and add ths website to it. i want to remember this website :>

  4. Georgina Kuntu-Blankson

    I learn more when i read your posts. Keep it up.

  5. joana

    i gonna try all these! how’s ur teeth now? im curious.

Leave a Reply

