DIY: Earring holders (5 different ways!)

If you’re anything like me -a huge big jewellery lover-, you’ll have waaaaay too many earrings and probably just a dull place to store them all. I usually just use a big jewellery box, but the problem with those is that each and every day it is a fun game of find the right pairs and that’s not my idea of fun when I’m in a hurry. But when I was cleaning my room the other day (actually it took me about a week), I found a new and cute way to store ánd display them in neat pairs. And if you for some insane reason don’t like my system, don’t leave! I’ve got plenty more ideas.

1. So, my own idea is actually quite simple. My sister once bought me this big, purple potpourri/candle holder thingy, and when I took the little glass bowls off, I was left with a great base to hang my earrings on. I even kept one of the bowl holders (as you can see on the left, the circular thing with 3 pairs of tear shaped earrings on).

 

Pro: It looks really cute. Maybe it looks a bit weird on the picture, but trust me, in real life this is such an eye catcher.
Con: There’s no way I can ever store all of my earrings on this thing. Like, no way.

2. Use a grease splatter! A what? Yes, you read it right, a grease splatter. All the tiny holes in them are perfect to put a pair of earrings through. Bend the handle 90 degrees and you can put it on a flat surface. (idea by Instructables.com)

 

Pro: You can store lots of earrings at once. If you don’t like it on a surface, you can just skip the handle bending and hang the splatter on a wall.
Con: It’s a grease splatter. It’s quite huge. And it isn’t really a piece of art in your room, to be honest.

3. Well, if we’re using grease splatters already, why not a kitchen grater? You might raise your eyebrows, but actually it looks really cool! All you need is a kitchen grater you don’t use anymore, some spray paint (they used turquoise on this one) and if you like, some brass hooks for feet. (idea by Curbly.com)

 

Pro: Four different sides to hang your earrings, that’s having the opportunity to separate your earrings into four different themes or seasons! Plus, this actually looks awesome. Oh, and it’s a cheese grater, haha!
Con: Uhm, yeah, it is still a cheese grater. And if you’ve got earrings with plastic plugs to prevent them from falling from your earlobes, it might be difficult to hang them in the tinier holes of the grater.

4. Wire mesh in a frame. This one’s actually pretty common, but I’m still including it in this post. Because I can. The idea is pretty simple: Cut a piece of wire mesh big enough to fit a frame, nail or glue the mesh to your frame and hang your creation, covered in earrings, on the wall. If you prefer an even cuter look, you can use a piece of strong lace or fabric with holes instead of wire mesh as well.

  

Pro: Cute, creative and if you pick a large frame, you can display all of your earrings at once.
Con:  Same problem as with the cheese grater, you’ll have to reach for the back of your frame to remove the plastic plugs off your earrings each time you want to wear them.

5. One of the things I’ve tried myself as well, is using one of those little plastic transparent boxes that are used for storing sewing things.

Pro: Quick and easy to store, you can pile multiple boxes on each other and keep them in drawers if you like. Because they’re transparent it’s also easy to have a quick overview of your jewellery. They’re covered, so they’ll stay dust free.
Con: Not that aesthetic if you were planning on displaying your earrings.

2 Comments

Filed under DIY, Fashion, Inspiration

2 responses to “DIY: Earring holders (5 different ways!)

  1. Love this! Especially the mesh frame one! Def going to try this out. Check out one of my recent DIY’s! https://barexbones.wordpress.com/2012/03/29/diy-canvas-art/ let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

