Shatter/Crackle nail polishes

You’ve probably already heard about them: crackle nail polishes. They give you a kind of edgy, alternative look, which I love!

I got two of them for Christmas, an electric blue one from La Femme Beauty and a black one from Essence.  As I was very excited to get them (I especially asked to get one, because I love the crackle effect), I tried them rightaway. Little did I know that you had to paint your nails in another colour first as a base for the crackle to work. I tried them on my bare nails, and of course they didn’t crackle whatsoever. So at first I thought they didn’t work, because they were quite cheap, and perhaps of poor quality. But after a bit of research on Google I quickly learnt that I needed a base layer. As luck would have it, my little sister also bought me this mintgreen nail polish (Essence, 79 Vive la Green), which I could use as a base coat. I finished it with a black crackle, and the result was simply stunning! My nails looked like they could star in a commercial for Monster Energy drinks, haha!

by VeraCamilla.nl

by http://lacquerbuzz.blogspot.com  by http://lacquerbuzz.blogspot.com

I haven’t really tried the electric blue crackle polish yet, but I was thinking of combining it with a metallic pink. What colours would you recommend me? As soon as I try it I’ll upload a photo, but my nailbeds look like chapped pinecones right now (thank you winter!) so I didn’t feel like photographing them.

And, what do you think of the mintgreen and black combo? Do you guys like or already have crackle polishes? And in which colours?

2 Comments

Filed under Beauty

2 responses to “Shatter/Crackle nail polishes

  1. It’s actually a cool and useful piece of information. I am glad that you just shared this helpful information with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  2. I adore the blog layout . How do you make it. It is really sweet!

Leave a Reply

